Breaking News

Sena wins 13 seats at VMC in Aurangabad district

The Shiv Sena won 13 seats though its candidate for the post of president was defeated by BJP nominee by a margin of 1,765 votes in a Vaijapur Municipal Council (VMC) election on Thursday. According to official sources, counting of votes in 23 wards completed at Vaijapur. The election for the VMC was held on April 6. Shiv Sena had contested this election on its own while BJP had made a tie up with Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) winning 9 seats. The Congress managed to win one seat only.

In a presidential election, BJP candidate Silpha Pardeshi won by a margin of 1765 votes defeating her rival candidate Shiv sena's Tashka Azhar Ali, sources said. It may be recalled that Ms Pardeshi and her husband and heavyweight Congress leader in Vaijapur made entry into the BJP's fold just before the election. Chief Minister Devendra Fadanvis had campaigned to the election.

No comments