Breaking News

How to vote A guide for General Voters

How to vote : A guide for General Voters

You can cast a ballot just if your name shows up in the Voter List (otherwise called Electoral Roll). Voters can likewise discover data on Polling Booths, Contesting competitors, Election Dates and Timings, Identity cards and EVM.

Voting Process at Polling Booth
  • First polling official will check your name on the voter list and check your ID proof
  • Second polling official will ink your finger, give you a slip and take your signature on a register (Form 17A)
  • You will have to deposit the slip at the third polling official and show your inked finger and then proceed to the polling booth
  • Record your vote by pressing the ballot button opposite the symbol of the candidate of your choice on the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM); You will hear a beep sound
  • Check the slip that appears in the transparent window of the VVPAT machine. The slip with the Candidate serial No., Name and Symbol shall be visible for 7 seconds before it drops in the sealed VVPAT box
  • You can press NOTA, None of the Above, if you don't like any candidate; it's the last button on the EVM
  • For more information, please see the Voter Guide on
  • Mobile phones, cameras or any other gadget is not allowed inside a polling booth.

You can only vote if your name appears in the Voter List (also known as electoral roll). Verify your name on the list by either:
  • Logging on to
  • Calling the Voter Helpline 1950 (please add your STD code before dialling)
  • SMS <ECI> space <EPIC No> to 1950 (EPIC stands for Electors Photo Identity Card also commonly known as Voter ID card). Example - If your EPIC is 12345678 then sms ECI 12345678 to 1950
  • Download Voter Helpline App

Lok Sabha elections are scheduled from 11 Apr – 23 May, 2019. Please visit to check your exact date.

  • Phase 1 - 11th Apr
  • Phase 2 - 18th April
  • Phase 3 - 23rd April
  • Phase 4 - 29th April
  • Phase 5 - 6th May
  • Phase 6 - 12th May
  • Phase 7 - 19th May
Election results will be announced on 23rd May. Please note Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim Vidhan Sabha elections will be held in parallel to Lok Sabha Elections, Please check for more information

No comments